Our village outreach yesterday was exceptionally successful (if you don't mind me saying so). We tested an overwhelmingly wonderful 50 people! I think that it was almost half the village!
Most people here refuse to get tested after the dance dramas/health presentation because doing so supposedly means that they are having unprotected sex with more than one partner. We usually test 10 or 12 people at most. Ceri once got into a debate on the bus to Ouagadougou with a few seemingly educated men who didn't want to get tested because they were "free" until they knew their status. WTF does that even mean?!?
Today is my last day with the center. Part of me wishes I could stay here longer and do more work, but I'd be lying if I said that I'm not looking forward to being clean, being able to work out, not waking up covered in sweat, seeing my family, seeing my FRIENDS(!), reading the paper, and, unexpectedly, being home for Christmas.
Now, I usually hate christmas (with an exception of the music, possibly because of my time in childrens choir as a youth). I hate midnight mass (not that I've gone in a while). I hate being home all day with nothing to do after opening presents. I hate the exorbant amount of effort my puts forward to create the sembalence of happiness.
But for the first time in a long time, I'm genuinely looking forward to it.
Fuck, I can't wait.
Bring on 24 hours of "The Christmas Story" on ABC family. Bring on "It's a Wonderful Life" on Christmas Eve (especially when I ineluctably sob at the end and Elijah feels uncomfortable). Bring on the Ham (that's right, capital H) and the excess of gifts that I don't want, need, or like. Bring on Christmas, I'm motherfucking ready.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment